ACM CIKM '99 Call for Papers

ACM CIKM '99 Call for Papers

Eighth International Conference on Information and Knowledge Management

November 2-6, 1999, Kansas City, MO, USA

Sponsored by ACM SIGIR and ACM SIGMIS

In Cooperation with CST-UMKC
(pending approval of sponsorship/in cooperation)

CIKM'99 will bring together leading researchers and developers in a wide variety of scientific areas, with a common interest in improving information and knowledge management technologies. Its objective is to provide a forum for the discussion and dissemination of recent advances in the area, and to foster collaboration between the database, information retrieval, and artificial intelligence communities. The focus of the conference is new and original research results in the areas of theoretical foundations, design, implementation, and applications of information and knowledge management. We solicit papers in the following areas, but are not limited to:

Intelligent Search
Data Mining
Knowledge and Resource Discovery
Interactive Data Exploration
Cooperating and Interoperable Federated Systems
Digital Libraries
Logical and Physical Database Design
Intelligent Information Systems
Hypertext and Hypermedia
Intelligent Agents
Information Filtering and Summarization
Data Warehouses/OLAP
Information Classification and Organization
Distributed Object Management
Multicast and Data/Knowledge Sharing
Multimedia Database Systems
Mobile Databases and Wireless Computing
Dynamic Databases
Active and Extensible Databases
Temporal/Spatial Databases
Integrating Databases and Information Retrieval
Data and Information Visualization
Eng./Scientific and Design Databases
Knowledge Management
Heterogeneous and Distributed Systems

Paper Submission:

Authors are invited to submit complete and original papers. Papers that may be submitted for consideration include those that have not previously been published in another forum, or are not currently being published or reviewed by another journal or conference. All submitted papers will be refereed for quality, originality and relevance. Of particular interest are papers which address experiences with concrete applications. All accepted papers will appear in the conference proceedings, to be published by ACM Press, provided at least one author attends the conference to present the paper. Manuscripts should include an abstract and be limited to 5000 words. Submissions should include the title, author(s), author's affiliation, e-mail address, tel/fax numbers and postal address. In case of multiple authors, please indicate which author is responsible for correspondence and preparing the camera ready paper for the proceedings. Seven copies of the manuscript should be submitted by May 1, 1999 to the appropriate Program Committee Co-Chairs:

Program Co-Chairs

Dr. Susan Gauch
CIKM '99 (IR track)
ITTC, Nichols Hall
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045 USA

Dr. Il-Yeol Song
CIKM '99 (DBMS track)
College of Information Science and Technology
Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA 19104, USA

For more information about the conference, please visit the CIKM web site

Important Dates:

Full papers, workshops, tutorials due : May 1, 1999
Notification of acceptance : August 2, 1999
Camera ready papers due : September 1, 1999


Send proposals to Dr. Konstantinos Kalpakis, CIKM'99 Workshops Chair, Dept. of CSEE, UMBC, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 USA,, 410-455-3143


Send proposals to Dr. Costas Tsatsoulis, CIKM'99 Tutorials Chair, ITTC, Nichols Hall, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS 66045 USA,

For more information about the conference, please visit the CIKM web site or contact the General Chairs Kia Makki or E.K. Park.

GENERAL CHAIRS: Kia Makki, USL ( and E.K. Park, UMKC (
PROGRAM CHAIRS: Susan Gauch and Il-Yeol Song
PUBLICITY CHAIR: David Grossman,
Karl Aberer, Germany		 Michael Halper, USA		  Calton Pu, USA
Maristella  Agosti, Italy	 Jiawei Han, Canada		  Rajeev Rastogi, USA
James Allan, USA		 Donna Harman, USA		  Berthier Ribeiro-Neto, Brazil
Paolo Atzeni, Italy		 Lewis Hassell, USA		  Neil Rowe, USA
Elisa Bertino, Italy		 Yannis Ioannidis, Greece/USA	  Fereidoon Sadri, USA
Peter Buneman, USA		 Trevor Jones, USA		  Mark Sanderson, UK
Jan Buzydlowski, USA		 Wolfgang Klas, Germany 	  Peter Schauble, Switzerland
Jamie Callan, USA		 Jin-Ho Kim, Korea		  Timos Sellis, Greece
Arbee Chen, Taiwan		 Myung-Ho Kim, Korea		  Cyrus Shahabi, USA
Su-Shing Chen, USA		 Bob Krovetz, USA		  Paraic Sheridan, USA
Chin Whan Chung, Korea		 Sukhamay Kundu, USA		  Junho Shim, USA
Sophie Cluet, France		 K.L. Kwok, USA 		  Kyuseok Shim, USA
Bruce Croft, USA		 Alberto H. Laender, Brazil	  Alan F. Smeaton, Ireland
Karen Davis, USA		 Mounia Lalmas, UK		  Stefano Spaccapietra, Swizld
Jim Dullea, USA 		 Roger Lee, USA 		  Amanda Spink, USA
Susan Dumais, USA		 Suk-Kyun Lee, Korea		  Junping Sun, USA
Ramez Elmasri, USA		 Stephen Liddle, USA		  Toby J. Teorey, USA
David Embley, USA		 Xia Lin, USA			  Ulrich Thiel, Germany
Peter Fankhauser, Germany	 Tok Wang Ling, Singapore	  Richard Tong, USA
Reginald Ferber, Germany	 Chengwen Liu, USA		  Suk-Chung Yoon, USA
Edward A. Fox, USA		 Kia Makki, USA 		  Vassilios Verykios, USA
Hans-Peter Frei, Switzerland	 Sam Makki, Australia		  Charles L. Viles, USA
Jim French, USA 		 Gail Michell, USA		  Ellen Voorhees, USA
Norbert Fuhr, Germany		 Mukesh Mohania, Australia	  Philip Yu, USA
George Gardarin, France 	 Erich J. Neuhold, Germany	  Xiaoyang Sean Wang, USA
Minos Garofalakis, USA		 Niki Pissinou, USA		  Kyu-Young Whang, Korea
Forouzan Golshani, USA		 A. Steven Pollitt, UK